Embracing Life

Forgive me for not posting lately!

One of the greatest joys of homeschooling is the ability to embrace life all year long, not just during a school break. However, we’ve had incredibly excellent weather lately, which isn’t always the case in Ohio (nor few other places, I’d venture to guess). So, I’ve been not wasting time sitting in front of my laptop blogging all my favorite words and thoughts. I’ve been getting out and “doing” instead.

2013-08-16 029 (640x459)

Some of the ways I’ve been embracing life include going on a small vacation with my family, visiting a neurosurgeon so he could tell me I don’t need to see him anymore, and packing up my oldest daughter for a move 15 hours away from me. (That’s her leaving me in the picture up above.) I refused to allow myself the luxury of blogging during those activities, while preparing for them, or during the decompression period afterward. I just wanted to embrace the moments and hog them to myself.

Gotta grab the moments, People! They fly by faster than a toddler running naked!

I’ve also been slowly but surely reading my way through “I Just Want to Pee Alone” because reading is one of the ways I take care of me.

91Brb7U1d9L._SL1500_

Those are some funny ladies, those Pee Alone women! I allow myself a little time to read a chapter (usually in the bathroom where I’m thankfully peeing alone). Then I hit the web and find their Facebook pages and blogs so I can do some liking and commenting and general loving on these writer/bloggers! If you haven’t read this book yet, you should! For one, then you’ll know what I know. For two, daily laughter is a great stress-reducer. Sometimes a good book is the only place I can get my laugh on. You should get your laugh on, too! If one chapter doesn’t tickle your funny bone, either go on to the next chapter or check your pulse. Either you’re dead, or you just need to hear someone else’s funny voice. I’m so, so thankful for this compilation of bloggers writing the words I want to read! Write on, ladies!

So, in case you’re worried, know that I will be back very, very soon, with the next installment of our Homeschooling A – Z theme … we’re now up to “J is for … ” Anyone have any suggestions? I’ve got some good ideas. Let’s hope they don’t fall out of my head before I allow them to escape through my fingertips.

How about sharing some “embracing life” ideas? What have you been up to lately?

Continue the conversation ... share your thoughts here:

