The Year of Learning Dangerously

Year of Learning DangerouslyBook review: The Year of Learning Dangerously by Quinn Cummings

I’m not a professional book reviewer and I’m not getting a kickback from reviewing this book. I just needed to put it out into the universe how much I LOVED this book! Quinn Cummings has somehow read my mind and put into words … good words … what my first year of homeschooling was like. Her research went a little farther than mine, with forays into the world of homeschool conventions and dramatic costume changes, but otherwise, you might’ve thought I’d been living the dream with her.

I seriously laughed out loud, I think I cried once, and I shouted at my husband multiple times, “This woman is writing what’s in my head!!! And she’s using good words!!!” 

Quinn does a beautiful job of explaining most of the homeschooling options that are out there. She describes the types of people who homeschool, their reasons for choosing this lifestyle, and the different methods used. She was very thorough in her research and anyone who has done the same research can easily recognize what she’s describing despite her skill at being subtle.

I think our biggest difference is my choice to be transparent about my Christian walk, but I respect her choice of remaining private on the issue of her spiritual life.

Quinn managed to wrap each chapter up with the brightest, shiniest bow, yet each time I felt like you’d only get what each chapter’s last sentence meant if you truly “got” her. I recognize that there are many in this world who are way more serious than me and Quinn. (Like that? Me and Quinn. Me and my new BFF. Not that she actually knows me, but I’m sure she’d love me if we ever met.) I love her tongue-in-cheek humor, and her self-deprecating manner.

Not only did this author make me laugh, and think, but she also had me guessing to the end about whether her homeschooling experiment would last more than one school year. No spoiler alert here … you’ll have to read it yourself to find out.

I give this book my highest recommendation, which means I’m even taking the time to write this review to share how much I LOVED this book! I don’t bother writing reviews unless something has me gasping.

I heart Quinn Cummings and I heart this book too.

Does this sound like a book you’d enjoy reading, too?

Do you Facebook? Be sure to like Courageous Jane Homeschools!

2 thoughts on “The Year of Learning Dangerously

  1. My sister started homeschooling this year. This will be a good book to recommend for her to read. I’ve been homeschooling almost 13 years now, but I would love to read it too. So maybe I’ll read it first and highlight some portions before passing it on to her. 🙂
    In the same way we like reading books about homeschooling, did you know there are books for kids with homeschooled characters in the stories? You can find them at http://www.homeschoolliterature.com/

    Thanks for sharing your review on this book!! 🙂

    • That’s great, Janet! I can’t say enough about how much I enjoyed this book! I plan to read it again … it’s that good!
      I’m thrilled to know there are books with homeschooling characters. I’ll be looking into the site you mentioned. Thanks for sharing it!
      ~ Jane

Continue the conversation ... share your thoughts here:

