D is for …

Continuing our Homeschooling A-Z theme, we’re finally up to “D.” I think you’ll like this one. Be sure to leave me a comment at the end!

alphabet

D is for … decisions. Oh my aching head. Are we not plagued with decisions on a constant basis?? To homeschool or not to homeschool. Online public school, eclectic-hodge-podge, unschooling, Charlotte Mason, Classical, Christian or secular, blah blah blah … and that’s before we even jump into the fire! 4 days per week, or 5? How much screen time will I allow in my house? Workbooks or computer-based? Do they really need to know how to parse a sentence?!?  How many days per week is it acceptable to serve mac and cheese for lunch? (And pick up pizza for dinner!) The decision-making is never-ending and can be daunting to say the least. BUT! … (Yes, I could use the word ‘however’ here, but I decided to use the word ‘but’ instead. I have a 10-year-old boy. Yelling ‘But!’ is currently the better choice for obvious reasons.) Decision-making is actually one of the perks of homeschooling. This is one of the reasons many of us choose this lifestyle. We want the right, the freedom, to choose what we believe is best for our children. We don’t want a school system to dictate what hours our children are on a bus, in a classroom, or how much time they’re required to spend on homework each night. We want to be the ones deciding when our children will learn their multiplication facts, and whether we think cursive handwriting is important or not. Yep, in the homeschooling world, D is for decisions … thank God for that!

D is for … doubts. Let me make this crystal clear: we ALL have them! I guess this isn’t really specific to homeschooling. This is human nature. The trick is to figure out what you’re going to do with your doubts when they creep in. (I tend to just stuff them down and do my best to ignore them. I’m mature that way.) It’s a good idea to find a good homeschooling friend who will listen, then remind you that doubting is part of the process that ultimately leads us to a place where we better understand our motives.

D is for … determined. I love the word “determined.” To me, it denotes a certain strength of character. I don’t know about you, but I am determined to make this thing called homeschooling work for us! There are days when I want to give up. There are days when I think the kids would be learning more if they went to public school. There are days when I think this is just too hard. But then I remember why we chose this path, and I set my heart back in the right place. I am determined to see this through to the end (God willing). I am determined to do this our own way, and to not be sidetracked by what The Jones Family is doing. It would be easy to give up, to throw in the towel, to call it quits … but I am determined to stay the course and hopefully teach my children a thing or two in the process.

*I will not use this forum to discuss how determined my kids are to sneak in as much screen time as they possibly can while avoiding their math and spelling. 😉

D is for … dedication. We are a committed bunch, aren’t we? Many of us have given up jobs, careers, and other opportunities because of our dedication to doing this particular job well. Many of us are willing to withstand the scrutiny, ridicule, and skepticism of family, friends, neighbors, and even strangers because we are wholly committed to our belief that this is right for our family. Some of us have dedicated our entire lives to educating our children ourselves. (Not me. It took me a long time to jump on this band wagon!) It takes dedication and determination to stick with this when we’re faced with stubborn, rebellious, or lazy children, naysayers from other areas of our lives, or through an illness or pain. I think dedicated is a good word to describe those of us who are in this for the long haul.

D is for … dizzy.

Decimals. Division. Direct Objects. Dissection.

The variety of things we must teach … sometimes it makes me dizzy. (The aroma of Sharpie markers makes me dizzy too.) Going from one child to another, trying to keep up with who is working on what, all while folding laundry and doing dishes. Yep. I’m dizzy just thinking about it.

Anura Dissection

D is for … delirious. I’m just sayin’! Dictionary.com defines delirious as “Affected with or characteristic of delirium. (Also: “Wild with excitement, enthusiasm, etc.”) Of course I had to then check the definition of delirium … now this left me rolling in laughter as I considered it in light of our choice to be homeschoolers:  “a more or less temporary disorder of the mental faculties, as in fevers, disturbances of consciousness, or intoxication, characterized by restlessness, excitement, delusions, hallucinations, etc.” … I think I can stop right there. Anyone who’s homeschooled for any length of time, or who has been considering homeschooling and is still in the “research” stages, should completely understand this without further explanation. Yes Mam! D is for delirious!

I’ve decided I’m going to stay dedicated to this delirious pursuit called homeschooling, no matter how many doubts I have or how dizzy it makes me! 🙂 Who’s with me?!?

Happy homeschooling, Everyone!

~Courageous Jane

I’m linked up at:

Super Sunday Sync
9 thoughts on “D is for …

    • Yes! Daring to not follow the herd. Daring to take the path less traveled. Daring to say “You don’t know my child like I do.”

  1. Oh Jane, you have put it all so clearly. I am delirious. Some days that is good and other days, not so much. Keep it up. I can’t wait for E.

  2. Pingback: We Have A Name! | Rafferty's Rules

  3. Pingback: E is for … | Courageous Jane Homeschools

Continue the conversation ... share your thoughts here:

